March 2015: Serving on the board

President's Letters, Recent News l

The JAWS Board of Directors met in Washington, D.C., from March 20 to 22. This is the only time outside of CAMP that your board gathers in person. The agenda included a diversity discussion, updates on CAMP, mentoring, regional programming, fellowships and highlights from all committees. The meeting kicked off with a board dinner at the National Press Club followed by a mixer with D.C.-area JAWS members.
The board’s working sessions were at the Medill D.C. campus. Lynn Sweet reached out to program director Ellen Shearer, who graciously let JAWS use the space for free.

One item on the agenda was activating a nominating committee. Start thinking about serving on the board. Research shows that women usually need to be asked to run for office seven times before they do it: Consider this your first ask. And then show that you are willing to defy the odds and decide to run without waiting for six more asks.

– Linda Kramer Jenning

And welcome to these new members of JAWS:

Dorian Craft (@doriancraft)
Jennifer Oldham (@jennoldham)
Sue Toth (@editingbysue)
Melissa McCall
Doree Shafrir (@doreeshafrir)
Evelyn McDonnell (@EvelynMcDonnell)
Pamela Ferdinand
Kellie Lunney (@klunney)
Grace Tatter (@GraceTatter)
Alison Flowers (@Flowersalison)
Katherine Landergan (@klandergan)
Lourdes Venard (@lourdesvenard)
Stephanie Tsao (@ecotsao)
Heather Curtis (@heathermcurtis1)
Nkongho Beteck (@kcetebn)
Sarah Chacko (@sarahheartsnews)
Karen Mracek (@karenmracek)
Jill Rosenbaum Meyer (@jrosenbaumdc)
Julia Lieblich
Karina Ioffee (@kioffee)
Janet Harrison (@garnetnewsroom)
Mary D’Ambrosio (@marydambrosio)
Julia Franco
Candace Hughes
Julia Love (@byJuliaLove)