CAMP 2019: New members and officers elected to JAWS Board of Directors

Results are in for the Journalism and Women Symposium’s 2019-20120 Board of Directors election. Join us in welcoming new officers and members to the board.

The new board officers and members will join President Mira Lowe, Treasurer Deborah Douglas and Directors Jennifer Kho, Marina Trahan Martinez and Fara Warner. JAWS Sent out 465 ballots with 110 votes. There were a total of 12 candidates (including 6 write-in candidates).

Carla Murphy will serve as Vice President, EJ Graff as Deputy Vice President, Alex Hinojosa as Secretary and Kyle Foster, Tanya Gazdik, Jane Isay and Kari Mar as board members. Read more about the new officers and board members below.

Vice President 

Carla Murphy is a social justice journalist and editorial consultant. She has been a JAWS member since 2015. 

Deputy Vice President 

EJ Graff is Managing editor of The Monkey Cage at The Washington Post and a longtime journalist who has reported widely on social justice issues, especially gender and sexuality.


Alex Hinojosa is a freelance journalist and Mass Communication Discipline/District Coordinator for El Paso Community College El Paso, Texas.

Board of Directors 

Kyle Foster is a freelance journalist with weekly assignments as a travel blogger in Tennessee and the Orlando Sentinel’s GrowthSpotter. She is also a trainer for Facebook for Journalists – a partnership between Facebook and the Society of Professional Journalists.

Tanya Gazdik is an automotive editor and senior writer at MediaPost. She resides in Detroit, MI. A JAWS member for 6 years, she served on the 2019 CAMP Committee and spearheaded the online auction.

Jane Isay is a self-employed writer and book editor living in New York City. She has been a JAWS member for 15 years and is the author of  “Unconditional Love: A Guide to Navigating the Joys and Challenges of Being a Grandparent Today” and other books on family relationships. 

Kari Mar is an editor at Avanade and freelance journalist living in Washington.