New JAWS Board of Directors elected in online vote

Recent News l

Journalism & Women Symposium logoBy Angela Greiling Keane, past Nominating Committee chair

I’m thrilled to announce the results of the election for the 2016-2017 JAWS board, which takes effect immediately.


Congratulations to:

  • President-elect Yumi Wilson
  • Treasurer Jackie Frank
  • Secretary Sheila Solomon
  • Board member Lisa Gillespie
  • Board member Andrea Stone
  • Board member Marina Villeneuve

And thank to you the board members — most especially President Sandra Fish — whose service is continuing via unexpired terms.

I’m also pleased to report that the first year of online voting for JAWS was a success. We had 173 people vote, which is a great number because it’s nearly the number of people who came to CAMP this year. (In the past, voting has been done in person at CAMP and only by people who show up for the Sunday morning business meeting … which is not 100 percent of CAMPers.)

Adopting online voting has allowed members around the country and the world to participate in the election process without having to be at CAMP in person.

Special thanks to JAWS staff members Roxanne Foster and Connie Ho for their work to get online voting up and running.