CAMP 2016: Voting for the 2016-2017 JAWS Board of Directors

JAWS CAMP 2016 l

Journalism & Women Symposium logoVoting for the 2016-2017 Board of Directors for the Journalism and Women Symposium opens on Friday, Oct. 21, at 12 p.m. Eastern and closes on Saturday, Oct. 29, at 12 p.m. Eastern. JAWS members in good standing may vote; voting is closed to student and associate members. Anyone who renews their membership during the voting window can contact for a ballot.

Members will receive an email ballot in their inbox on Friday, Oct. 21; the ballot will be sent to the email address on file with JAWS. Log in to the members-only site at to make sure we have the current email address on file. If you have any difficulties logging in to, please email

Voters can learn about the board nominees on the JAWS website. The new board will be announced on Sunday, Oct. 30, at the Conference and Mentoring Project in Roanoke, Va. Results will also be posted online.

Board nominees:
President-Elect (one year as president-elect, followed by two years as president)
Yumi Wilson
is a tenured journalism professor at San Francisco State University and a former news reporter and editor.

Treasurer (two-year term)
Jackie Frank
is a veteran journalist who worked as a Capitol Hill reporter and editor for Reuters in Washington, D.C., for close to 30 years.

Secretary (one-year term)
Sheila Solomon has worked at newspapers in Hampton and Newport News; Long Island, N.Y.; Charlotte, N.C.; and Chicago and has been an adjunct journalism professor and a frequent speaker at journalism workshops and conferences.

Director (board seat, two-year term)
Lisa Gillespie is the health care reporter with WFPL, the NPR station in Louisville, Ky.

Andrea Stone is director of career services at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, where she loves her job, helping launch the careers of a new generation of journalists.

Marina Villeneuve is an Associated Press state government reporter based in Augusta, Maine.